The Romans call the village Victoria, then the Picts called it Aberlednock. Comrie itself is a Gaelic name given by the Scots who invaded in the 7-8th century.
The village was once well known to have the highest incidence of minor earth tremors in Scotland and because of this it boasts the 'Earthquake House' which was built to monitor these earth tremors. The small house was built in 1869, and is located in a pasture about half a kilometre south of Ross bridge.
Situated on 90 acres of land at the entrance to Glen Artney, Cultybraggan POW Camp, has a broad history dating back to 1939 when it originally opened as No. 21 War Training Camp.
To the south of the village, over the bridge and turning right after half a mile is the road to Glen Artney. The Forest of Glen Artney, which lies between Glen Artney and Loch Earn, was once part of the royal deer forest of Strathearn supplying venison to the sovereigns of Scotland. The glen was immortalised in Sir Walter Scott's 'The Lady of the Lake'.
The first post office opened in the village in 1807. In 1893 the railway arrived as a branch line from Crieff. By 1904 the line had been extended along Loch Earn to join with the Oban line at Lochearnhead.