Evidence of occupation in the parish area extends back to prehistoric times and provides a place of fascinating historical and social interest. The village itself stands on an ancient fording place that traditionally gives rise to its name, the Black Ford. Water has played an important role in the history and development of the village, giving rise to early breweries, mills, ropeworks and a distillery. Despite the village being burnt to the ground by Jacobite forces in 1716, it continued to develop through the Industrial Revolution up to the war years and beyond.
On the cold evening of 25th January 1716, Blackfordwas attacked by two to three hundred Jacobites soldiers who surrounded the village. With the help of a local man, William Maitland, a local innkeeper, the Jacobite soldiers set fire to buildings which were burnt to the ground.
This act was in response to the Jacobite indecisive defeat at the Battle of Sheriffmuir near Dunblane fought on the 15th January to slow down the pursuing government troops. The Earl of Mar withdrew his forces along Strathearn burning this and other towns and villages in order to deny the government forces of both food and shelter. The 1715 uprising owed much to the unpopular Act of Union of 1707 and to the replacement of the House of Stuart, with its ancient ties to Scotland by the House of Hanover. From his base in Perth he soon realised the cause was lost and along with Old Pretender, James, who had set court at Scone near Perth, fled the country.